Let’s Get Real…Mindful!

An important aspect of mental health is mindfulness, as I may have stated in previous blog posts. What is mindfulness? It is the quality or state of being conscious or aware of something.

In light of this, recently I have had, what seems like, ten thousand thoughts running throughout my mind. Needless to say, it has been very difficult to stay focused and relaxed.

Believe it or not, many of us feel this way a lot of the time. School work begins to pile up, plans for the future are being made, and there are endless tasks to complete. When life seems too heavy, it is hard to take time to reflect on what we are learning, feeling, or thinking.

Lately I have had a difficult time with this. I can hear God speaking wisdom and comfort into my spirit, teaching me a valuable lesson. However, too often the soft voice drowns underneath the apparent noise.

So, what is the soft, valuable lesson that is etching away at my spirit? Slow Down. That’s right, slow down. A lesson such as this seems ironic in such a fast-paced, busy life – yet, it is the best lesson of all.

Yes, slow down – smell the flowers, feel the wind against your skin, focus on sensations, or simply be present where you are. I was reminded of this today – to relax, slow down, and be mindful of the journey.


Earlier this evening, I found a journal prompt for mindfulness on Pinterest, and I am going to vulnerably answer to journal questions to not only reflect for myself, but to hopefully help some others of you take the time to reflect.

  1. What did you learn about yourself this month?

This month, I learned that it is okay to take my time with certain tasks, or to take time to relax by not focusing on tasks that need to be completed. This could be done by taking a nap, coloring, watching Netflix, spending time with a friend, or exercising. It is also okay to be completely present with each little task, to not rush, but to do each with precision.I have learned that life is not a race, but is a journey that can be taken slow or fast, but to always be present.

  1.  What are you inviting into your life with your actions?

I am inviting peace, health, relaxation, and joy into my life by taking life slower. This will help me to reduce any stress that I may have in the next couple months of endless tasks I may have.

  1. How do you feel in your heart center right now?

I feel safe, like I can enjoy the journey knowing I will be completely taken care of regardless of any outcome.

  1. Has your mind spent more time today focused on the past, present, or future?

Today, I have spent more time thinking about the future; about the things I need to do to make my future happen.

  1. What fear holds you back?

I fear being seen as irresponsible or lazy by taking my life slower. I feel I need to be in control of all things so that all will work out, but also because then people may see me as more efficient.

  1. Name five things that you love about yourself?
  1. I love my body
  2. I love how intelligent I am, and how much more I am learning
  3. I love my passion for holistic health
  4. I love how I never allow my fears to control my actions/behavior
  5. I love my beliefs and values that carry me throughout life

 

Remember to take life slower, enjoy each moment, stay present, and take time to reflect in the midst of this chaotic world!

Leave a Reply

